Back to overview
August 4 2020Legal affairs

EU lifts travel restrictions at the external borders

From 1 July 2020, travel to the EU from selected third countries will be possible again. This was announced by the EU Council on 30 June 2020. AUMA - Association of the German Trade Fair Industry expressly welcomes these first steps towards lifting travel restrictions from third countries: "This is an important signal for international exhibitors and trade visitors who come to Germany for our trade fairs and another important factor for the success of the trade fair relaunch this autumn," emphasizes AUMA Managing Director Jörn Holtmeier.

The lifting of the travel restrictions decided by the EU affects the following countries: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China. The decision is a recommendation to the EU Member States, as the opening and closing of borders remains the responsibility of each EU Member State. As a result, the Federal Government of Germany has decided, initially for eleven states, that unrestricted entry to Germany will be possible from 2 July 2020. In the case of China, Japan and South Korea, this is subject to reciprocity. Therefore, as soon as these three countries allow EU citizens to enter, the travel restrictions will also be lifted for them without a new decision.

The list of countries for which travel restrictions to the EU can be lifted is regularly reviewed and updated regularly. The most important criterion is that the epidemiological situation in the respective countries is similar to the EU average. A domestic quarantine after entry is therefore in general not necessary. 

We only use technically necessary cookies on our website.
Information on data protection at AUMA can be found here.